top of page

On the Eighth Day of Christmas…

…my true love gave to me; eight Maids-a-Milking. They say that you learn something new every day.

Eight Maids Milking

Today I found out something new. I didn’t realise exactly what each day represented in the Twelve Days of Christmas. I thought it was a very strange set of gifts to give your true love.

I found out that each gift relates to something in the Christian faith …

  • Partridge in a pear tree = God

  • Two Turtle Doves = Old and New Testaments

  • Three French Hens = the Theological Virtues; Faith, Hope & Charity

  • Four Calling Birds = Four Gospels; Matthew, Mark, Luke & John

  • Five Gold Rings = The Pentateuch (first five books of the Bible; Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers & Deuteronomy)

  • Six Geese A-Laying = The six days of creation

  • Seven Swans A-Swimming = the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit (wisdom, understanding, counsel, fortitude, knowledge, piety and fear of God this doesn’t mean being afraid of God, but afraid of offending Him so doing what is right.)

  • Eight Maids a-milking = the eight Beatitudes found in the Gospel of Matthew:-

  • Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

  • Blessed are they who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

  • Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.

  • Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

  • Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.

  • Blessed are the pure of heart, for they shall see God.

  • Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called children of God.

  • Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven

To my mind, that means that so far, these gifts from one true love to another, seem to be so worth having!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page